Fly

We have a pet Australian diamond dove, the other day I was thinking about how she relates to her surroundings and I found a parallel to our lives in Christ.
I often open up her cage so she can fly around the room for exercise, while I putter around on my laptop. She usually does a circuit or two around the room and then goes back into the cage. Sometimes she just sits in the cage with the door open, secure in the knowledge that that is her home.
It made me think of how Jesus by His death and resurrection opened the cage to release us (everybody) from sin and death and freed us to choose to live in Him forever.
Because of His death and resurrection, the cage door is open we are completely free to choose or reject Him.
It is by her choice that our dove sits in her cage and doesn’t fly, and since I am in the room she could choose to come sit by me as I am typing this, and share in her funny way in what I am doing.
By the same token we can seek the Lord, (who by the way is a lot more fun to sit with than I am) or we can live a half life of our own choosing. If we don’t pay attention to the opportunity the Lord has given us, we will live small, shriveled, flightless lives in the cage even while the door is wide open,
We could choose to remain in our cage, secure in our flesh which over the years will betray us, as it deteriorates, or we can learn to fly and we can seek the Lord of all and come to know Him and fly with Him.
I don’t know about you, but I’ve always wanted to fly.

Nathan

nathan@cherandana(dot)com

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Dreams / Vision, God, Hearing God, Jesus, Journaling, religion, Writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Fly”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Loved it! Aren’t pets incredible in what God uses them for to teach us if we are willing to listen.

    Rachel

  2. Nathan Says:

    Yes Rachel, that’s for sure.
    Thanks for visiting!

  3. Matthew Says:

    Everybody? 🙂

    • Nathan Says:

      That’s right Matthew there isn’t a single person on this earth who doesn’t have the option to choose Jesus, and until He died and was resurrected and the Holy Spirit came at pentecost, there was no option for anyone except Jesus to live continually in the Spirit of God.

      He has removed the barriers
      which none of us could touch,

      the door is open.

  4. pttyann Says:

    Really good Nathan and I to want to “fly” soar like an eagle big and strong so that God can use me more & more,thanks for your visit to my place 🙂 have a wonderful day.

  5. Nathan Says:

    Thanks pttyann,
    I enjoy your blog, there is always something interesting or thought provoking there.
    As are the poems you posted recently, they are quite good and they inspire me to seek Him.
    I love the fact that you want to soar, I wish everyone could share your desire. It saddens me when I see the dull eyes and hear the thick headed comments of people in churches. I wish they could learn about true freedom. I wish they could fly with the Lord.

    Thanks for visiting, sister

  6. Shannon Says:

    God would bring that analogy often to my mind when I was in bondage…”Come away and fly with Me”. I knew my heart was craving freedom, but didn’t know how to get it. But He knew the way…I’m so very thankful He set me free to fly with Him. Nothing compares!!!

    Thanks for sharing this!

    • Nathan Says:

      You’re Welcome Shannon,
      I certainly believe that He was calling you away from the traps people build, The denominations want people to look to them, the authoritarian preachers want to lead folks by the nose, even the laity cooperate with these abusive systems.
      It is a wonder that anyone can come to know the Lord these days. Ah, But God is gracious. Isn’t it wonderful that He coaxes us to come to Him? And when we respond He teaches us to fly.
      Yes, Shannon let us all as pttyann said above “soar like an eagle big and strong” as we learn to live our lives day by day moment by moment in His gracious presence.

      Bless you and yours
      Nathan


Leave a Reply

