Thirty Years Later

Dear old friend, it’s so nice to see that you are on Facebook.
It was many years ago when I saw you last, I know I should have controlled my tongue better, I shouldn’t have said those awful things that night. Now here we are thirty years later, both of us old married folk. I can’t say I regret the years gone by, I can’t say I am sorry for the the mate I chose, I can’t even say that I gave you much thought in the intervening years. I am sorry for the things I said that time so long ago.
I do wish I could share with you the joy I’ve found living in Jesus, no church, no religious zealots foaming at the mouth, no false authorities telling me what to do, just Jesus. But now I remember that you were really angry with folks who talked about the Lord, and I see from your comments on Facebook that that hasn’t changed, sigh.
Yeah, I guess you would just think I am crazy, when I tell you that He speaks to me just about every day.
I am not gonna cram the story of my joys, and my maturity, yes finally my maturity, and the very real nature of my Lord, down your throat. I would like to share, not shove. No, pushiness would cheapen the story and it’s not without value and the cost was too dear to drag it in the dirt.
I know that the Lord got my attention the hard way, maybe he will get your attention one of these days.
I will be ready to share, when you are ready to hear.
I love you, you old buzzard.

Ever your ornery pal,
Nathan

Now, if only I could get up the nerve to “friend” him and send this message.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Dreams / Vision, God, Hearing God, Jesus, Journaling, religion, Writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Thirty Years Later”

  1. Rachel Says:

    It is interesting how God brings peole back across our path . . I’ll keep you and your friend in my prayers and that you will follow the Spirit’s counsel in regards to him.

    Rachel


Leave a Reply

