The Bus Isn’t Coming

Modern man is like a person waiting for a bus, but the bus does not show up, and when the waiting becomes too much he bands together with the others who are waiting hopelessly for the bus that will never come, and they speak optimistically of when the bus will come, in fact as they talk about it, the bus becomes bigger and more wonderful like the Super Chief or a great ocean liner, for you see the grander it is, the longer it is worth waiting for. But the bus, that is the “glorious” day when man has all of the answers, isn’t coming, It will never come to a world which doesn’t acknowledge it’s Creator.
Just imagine if you loved a piece of music, but you refused to acknowledge and honor the composer, and you even insulted him, do you think he would rush to share his latest composition with you? The same is true of God, if you refuse to acknowledge His truth, He will allow you to be blind to other essential facts. You might think you are seeing everything which can be seen, but you would be wrong.
It’s rather like a logical conclusion which cannot be correct if one of the premises is incorrect. If you don’t start out with the understanding of God’s presence and role in creation, you will never be able to dig very deep into the truths of the universe. You will always be piddling with the building blocks of creation without fully understanding them. Like a little child who might admire a clock, but when he gets the back off and the pieces start falling out, the stray bits are too difficult to put back together without understanding. Sure, the child has all of the pieces, he has everything necessary on hand to make a functional clock, but without understanding how it works it will never be whole again. Understanding the universe, or even just the world we live in must begin with an acknowledgment of God. A wise child with all of the clock pieces scattered around him would try to find someone who understands the inner workings of the clock, but a willful, spoiled child would kick the parts in many directions and scream his disgust at the stubborn refusal of the clock to obey his whims.
We are at that same juncture in human history, we have started to use up the resources of the earth, we are unjustly consuming more than our share of nearly everything, and we are teetering on the brink of nuclear destruction, but until we understand what is truly wrong we will never fix anything. We might treat some of the symptoms, but we will never understand the whole if we do not see the truth of the matter, that people are spoiled children, who are only satisfied with having their own way and who refuse to see that they themselves are the problem. And the reason they are the problem is that they are not in the fruitful loving relationship with God that they were made for.
Without God to heal your heart and teach you, you will continue to follow your selfish ways and you will perpetuate the problems you have by defining every difficulty and proposing every solution in a purely selfish manner. As long as the answers you come up with are centered around your personal desires and convenience you will always have it wrong.
Seeking to survive while pushing away the author of life just makes no sense at all. Jesus understands the peculiar workings of your heart even in it’s present state, He also knows how to fix it, how to give you life. His answer is simple and it is one we haven’t thought of because we really have no idea what He is capable of.
He means to throw the whole thing out and recreate you.
In order for that to happen you must die. You must die to all of the petty stupid things you wanted out of life, you must die to the wounds and hurts you have suffered, you must die to all of your ridiculous notions of getting revenge. You must let go of all of them, selfish aspirations, desires for riches, glory, and fame, for even if you had all of those things, without Him, you would only be that monstrous spoiled child just richer and more famous (infamous?). You must die and trust that the one who created you knows what He is doing.
So now I see you are saying, what is the point of dying, if we die then we will be no more. Ah, but there you would be wrong, for if you die, or put your selfish desires to death in seeking Him, He will raise you to life just as He rose to life on that morning so long ago. And what an amazing life it is.
You will be truly alive for the first time, and you will share everything you have especially your new life, with anyone who needs it and will accept it. For this is the solution, that you live in His Spirit and learn to give freely and trust in His love. You won’t even care that the bus never showed up.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Dreams / Vision, God, Hearing God, Jesus, Journaling, religion, Writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Bus Isn’t Coming”

  1. cindyinsd Says:

    Great points, Nathan

    God’s been talking to me about this, too. How we humans all want this wonderful community where everyone takes care of everyone else, shows love and consideration, denies themselves and gets along with others and PLAYS NICE! Only none of us can do it. Only Jesus can do it in us, and for that, as you say, we have to die.

    • Nathan Says:

      Thank you cindyinsd,

      Well you know, in many ways human progress has been a good thing, but it is so far short of what we were meant for that it is easy to see we are not what we should be. I think God puts it in our hearts to improve our lot, but without Him it is really rather meaningless. Thank God He can live in our hearts and we can live in His, what an amazing thing this is.

  2. Mike Says:

    It sounds as though you have been through the same wringer that I’ve been through. For years I tried to get God’s stamp of approval on my plans; it seemed so right. As I observed other lives, whether personal friends & aquaintences or the lives of people I read about, I thought it was just the process of chiseling out my own course. But as good as the intent was, it was a little like Jesus reply to Peter when he asked about John; ‘what is that to you, you must follow me’.

    It is not until I came to the end of myself – until I had tried it all – there was no other angle – that I let go – that I died to myself. It is the only position from which we can discover His plan.

    CS Lewis tells the story of a man walking his dog. The dog is on a leash and goes to the wrong side of a light pole. The struggles to go forward but the owner is pulling him back. The owner wants him to go forward too. The dog feels as though the owner is preventing him from doing so and fights against it. It is only as the dog yields to the owner that he is able to go forward.

    That is the best picture of what has happened with me. I fought that leash far too long . . . but I never pulled hard enought to break free of it. What I have now is what I was always after; I just couldn’t find it the way I was going about it.

    Hope I didn’t get too far off the track from your post.

    Out of time and thoughts,

    Mike

    • Nathan Says:

      Mike, you and your comments are very welcome, discussion is good even if it wanders, but I didn’t think you wandered too far off the mark. I like that anecdote from CS Lewis (one of my favorite authors).
      I am an older guy and in the course of growing older I had to have a fish or cut bait moment, (haha, some people call that a “come to Jesus” moment). I had to realize that I hadn’t become the fabulous success that my obvious talents merited, in fact I had to come to grips with the fact that I was not all that extraordinary after all. Then I began to feel the calling of God, it was something which I had been avoiding for some time, particularly since all of the various denominations we had visited (there were a lot!) couldn’t get their stories straight, let’s see, the most common is that they can’t decide if they favor grace or works, easy fellowship or judging, and so they try to do all of them, not exactly what I was expecting in light of Acts and the epistles.
      Anyway my wife found a website that has a course on how to hear God. We took it and it worked. It helped me to get down to brass tacks, with a daily contact with Him. To my way of thinking the technique may not be as important as the attitude, but the technique is good. I think God wants us to respond to Him, after all He has already come more than halfway for us.
      Well, that was 4 years ago and things have been profoundly different since then. I had only piddled with writing before, and now I am writing nearly all of the time. Now there is something to write about.

  3. Rachel Says:

    How true this is. There are so many issues, problems, in all our “knowledge” and “wisdom” all we create is more destruction – I see this on just about every level of society and life. We can’t operate when we rebell against the Creator.

    I was at the beach yesterday and as I saw the people hanging out next to this massive expanse that to me represented the Spirit of God – His mercy, power and love – there is more than enough of Him to consume of us, fill us, renew us, and yet so many don’t want anything to do with Him. It is sad, the arrogance, the deception, and the bondage people are in. God wants to do so much for us but we think we know better.

    Reminds me of the verses – James 3:15-17 This wisdom does not descend from above, but is earthly, sensual, demonic. For where envy and self-seeking exist, confusion and every evil thing are there. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.

    Rachel

    • Nathan Says:

      Hi Rachel,
      That is a beautiful illustration about the ocean. Since childhood, I always had a fear of large, deep bodies of water, but your illustration gives me a new perspective, I’m divin’in (my apologies to Stephen Curtis Chapman).
      Ooh, the verse in James also give me tingles. Just think, that God Himself will instruct us in this wisdom and that we have something of a ruler to tell the difference between worldly and Divine wisdom. Cool!!

      Having been bookish and an armchair scholar in my youth, I had a lot to give up in the worldly wisdom department, now I find I am frustrated with people, particularly those who have been to seminary, who think that somehow we now know everything and human logic is the true key to knowledge after all. I have to stop myself from yelling at guys like that, for it seems that they were never looking for God’s input in the first place, they just wanted to place themselves in a position of authority to enforce the sublime “truth” of human rationality. And guys like that are the cream of the crop in ministry in the IC, they are called “spiritual leaders”.

      Well I tried that road and it smells of death. It is lined with the dust and ashes of countless dead poets and philosophers who were perhaps good guessers, but possessed no special knowledge after all.

      Only God can relieve our ignorance and only God can see the whole picture anyway. It is indeed a wonderful thing that our lives are bound up with His.


Leave a Reply

