Provision

Years ago when I was a delivery man I noticed something unusual, Whenever I got into a bad situation in my delivery truck somehow it always worked out OK, I mean sometimes I was hurtling towards a wall at 75 mph and thinking how I wasn’t going to make it this time and whoosh, then I was past the danger and fine, I went through countless mishaps, day in, and day out, I was even hit by other vehicles with nary a scratch to show for it, in those days before airbags. You know it became a sort of example to me of God’s protection, why I ended up OK when the car that hit me was totaled, I don’t know, but I knew God was in it.

I quit driving as a job after about 5 years of it and I found that my nerves had been drawn so tight that I jumped up out of a deep sleep, whenever I heard something unusual late at night, like a car out on the street with it’s motor running, or a cat yowling.
Sometimes I felt, if I had to drive very far or to an unknown neighborhood, that I was daring fate to get me, that the fatal accident which I had managed to dodge was going to catch up with me. That was an uncomfortable feeling, I assure you. But as I said before, I knew God was in it. Yet the problem was I didn’t understand how and I didn’t really trust Him. He was protecting me every day, yet I couldn’t relax and rest in His provision.
You might see God’s hand every day in your experience, dear reader. Does it puzzle you? Would you like to know more about Him?
People often have a sense of God when they are young, perhaps it is because there are fewer worries vying for their attention, and they haven’t learned to shut out His voice. It is a mystery, but a happy one, for if you have heard God or sensed Him, you are likely to seriously seek Him even if you wait ‘til later in life. For the person who experienced God as a child there is an unanswered question which needs to be asked before death stills his curiosity.
Now Preachers have gotten into the habit of quoting statistics these days, and they often quote that if a person doesn’t “get saved” by the time they are 20 they are not likely to ever “get saved” at all. Of course the Preachers are much more likely to say something like that when they are raising funds for a new Sunday School wing, than at other times. Frankly I think it’s a load of baloney. If you earnestly seek God, no matter how old you are, I would say that you have a %100 chance of finding Him. How’s that for a statistic, I know this because I discovered that Jesus truly cares for us, He makes Himself available for us to talk to Him, and yes, if we will listen He will speak to us.

So if you have been nagged by a sense that maybe you should be listening to God, you are not crazy you just have a few questions that need to be resolved. Find a quiet place sit down comfortably and tell Him how you feel, don’t hold back He knows it all anyway, He would just like to hear your side of the story. Then listen, sometimes writing down what you hear is helpful. He will give you guidance,  He may gently correct some of your bad behavior and He will tell you something astonishing, He will tell you that He loves you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christianity, Dreams / Vision, God, Hearing God, Jesus, Journaling, religion, Writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Provision”

  1. cindyinsd Says:

    God is so good. I think a lot of us believe we know Him at an early age (me) only to find out that it was some other “jesus” that we’ve been told about. When we leave the one we think was Him, He gently leads us into a true relationship with Himself. How gracious and how good He is.

    On the subject of your driving days, God brought something to light for me the other day about when the disciples didn’t want to go back to Bethany because of the danger to Him from the Jews. He told them, “There are 12 hours in the day, and if a man walks by this world’s light, he will not stumble.”

    I always thought that was a strange answer to give, but reading the commentaries, one of the commentators said Jesus was referring to His life (12 hours) and that His time wasn’t up yet, so it was safe to go. He wouldn’t die until God was ready. It really resonated with me, and also gave me a tremendous sense of freedom. Not that we should be foolish, but we don’t have to worry. God has our days numbered. Cool!

  2. Nathan Says:

    Hi Cindy,
    Thank you for your kind words, In reference to the early childhood encounters with the Lord I have met several people who spoke of early encounters, this encouraged a couple of friends whom I know well to tell me about their early childhood encounters with Jesus.
    I really have no reason to doubt them, He did some important work in their lives at at a critical time in their lives. He gave them a reason to keep moving forward with their lives despite some horrendous experiences, but mostly He taught them to hang on to Him. Not a bad deal for traumatized kids, eh?

    I have known for some time now that my days are numbered I am looking forward to God’s next big surprise, and if that is to leave this veil of tears I am certainly OK with that! Woohoo!


Leave a Reply

